The Naming of the Dead by Ian Rankin - Shastrix Books

The Naming of the Dead

The Naming of the Dead

ISBN: 9781409162056


A murder has been committed - but as the victim is a rapist, recently released from prison, no one is that concerned about the crime. That is, until Detective Inspector John Rebus and DS Siobhan Clarke uncover evidence that a serial killer is on the loose.

Reviewed on 23rd January 2019

Book sixteen of Rebus, and this time he’s investigating a crime that nobody else seems to care about, because the victim was a criminal himself.

I found the setting of this book really interesting - it’s set around the G8 summit at Gleneagles in 2005, and so the plot of the novel is weaved around real-life events taking place there, with guest appearances by world leaders and the characters lives being shown to be influenced by the events happening both there and elsewhere in the country that week.

The way that Rankin manages to add touches like this to his stories that make each one unique in some way adds to the whole experience for me, and I often feel compelled to pick up his novels when I’m wondering what to read next.

More books

  1. Black and Blue
  2. The Hanging Garden
  3. The Black Book
  4. Resurrection Men
  5. Set in Darkness
  6. Fleshmarket Close